Gratitude

image

Ok, less moaning today and more gratitude. When I stop and look around at what is around me I see the beauty in many things. My passions as well as art are flowers (of which I obsessively photograph), food (of which I obsessively enjoy), and my friends and loved ones who allow me, to just be me.

I was thinking today of how my life has changed recently as I changed my life. I stopped, reassessed and let go of a few things that cluttered my life, time and freedom and made room for such beauty as my creativity, art, friends and loved ones. My life became very rich again and for that I am truly grateful.

It’s amazing how life just carries on and you tend to lose sight of what’s important. Almost trading in steadfast friends for things that have a short life span or that fail to ‘make you happy’ as they promise. Chasing rainbows or the next thing, and then the next, and then the next…..enough!

Life is good today, I have everything I need from three stages according to Maslows hierarchy of needs: air, food, drink, shelter, warmth, sex, sleep. My safety needs are met, protection from elements, security, order, law, stability, freedom from fear. My Love and belongingness needs are also being ticked as achieved for today – friendship, intimacy, affection and love, – from work group, family, friends, romantic relationships.

So what next to achieve according to Maslow?

4. Esteem needs – achievement, mastery, independence, status, dominance, prestige, self-respect, respect from others.

5. Self-Actualization needs – realizing personal potential, self-fulfillment, seeking personal growth and peak experiences.

Well….. That is for another day.

Ref: http://www.simplypsychology.org/maslow.html

Leave a Reply

