Self belief

20140802-225633-82593196.jpg

It’s not fair to compare one artist to another because they all come with their own sort of elements to the picnic.
Annie Lennox

It’s an old friend is this, comparing myself to others, that noticeable feeling of discontent rears it’s head occasionally to remind me that there’s more work to do to. It lies in wait for a time when a little flicker of doubt may cross my mind and pow! It’s there, sucking the life out of the hope that I had yesterday.

It doesn’t pick and choose what subject to chew on, from day to day it can go from my weight, to my inability to make decisions or the fact that I am dreaming of becoming a full time artist and educator (eventually) and I have yet to sell a picture on Etsy….. (It has been a few days!).

There are some wonderful sayings about that I wish I could conjure up at times like these….’wear the world like a loose garment’, ‘don’t sweat the small stuff’ or ‘you are as happy as you make up your mind to me’. I can read positive affirmations that are continually posted that make you believe everyone else ‘gets it’ and that there must be something wrong with you because you don’t. Even those things can become a platform on which you can lay into yourself.

How can I compare my art to that of someone else’s? The brush strokes I make are mine, the delicate pieces of paper that I have chosen, cut and placed to form collographs have been created by my own hand. The natural materials used for my monoprints have been picked by yours truly and, although there’s never an art form that hasn’t been created before, each piece that I create is unique, original and has my mark.

The answer?

All I need is to believe in myself……

‘Believe in yourself, and the rest will fall into place. Have faith in your own abilities, work hard, and there is nothing you cannot accomplish’.
Brad Henry

One thought on “Self belief

  1. For art to be commercial you first have to get known and get to know what people like to see , it might mean that one has to produce what the public wants even if one feels they are not expressing their self. Very few artist get notice straight away . Still work on expressing yourself in your own work , be patient , and belief in yourself , be proud of your talent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

